Review of the Reebok RealFlex Run 2.0 – A Little Beyond the First Run with 166km done and dusted (Part 2/3)


When I finished part 1 of this review I promised you two things in part 2 – my first run impressions and a lesson in “breaking-in” new shoes.  Although eight outings and 166 km later is a little late in the day to talk about the first run but that is anyway where I am going to start my story.

First Run Impressions
It’s the morning of the 30th October and I am eager to test out the new shoes. I am ready to start my run around 7.30am after dropping off my son for football practice. If you have been reading my blogs then by now you know my routine – I start with a warm-up which today consists of a partial Myrtl routine (someday soon I am going to write about this for sure !), today is going to be a 6 km recovery run (with speeds near the 7min/km mark) which is all about loosening up, getting the kinks and minor glitches in the muscles and body out-of-the-way and flushing some of the lactic acid out before the longer and tougher 18k planned for tomorrow.

The shoe feels very planted yet light. When I stand in them and then walk up to my warm-up spot I can feel hardness near the heel in the sole, I also notice that the heel cup has a pretty hard plastic type of support and I am little worried about both these things.

Start the run, trying to feel and think about the shoe. The first kilometre is slow as usual since I walk for about 200-300m and only then start running. Second kilometre onwards I fall into a rhythm. Stop for a pee-break in the third kilometre, and then back to the rhythm. 4 kms later I suddenly realise something is wrong ! I am running faster than I intended to and I am not feeling it, in fact my mind is pretty much a blank. It is then that I remember that I am wearing new shoes – I could swear that I was wearing my well broken in Kinvara 3 or the Free 4.0 !

This perhaps sums-up the first run in the RealFlex Run 2.0 – the shoe provokes little or no thought and I don’t even realise I am wearing anything new. This, in my humble opinion, is exactly how a shoe that works for you should feel from day one. I know that there are still a lot of kilometres I need to put in this shoe before my final verdict but by the end of the first run I am satisfied. And the question on mind is – “Can these shoes replace my ageing Nike Free 4.0 (now about 1600 kms old)?”

The Next 8 Runs
Have put in another 160k in the RealFlex Run 2.0 which includes Recovery runs (10.1k and 11.18); Fast Striders (6x100k after the 11.18k recovery run); Medium Long runs (18.15k, 19.12k and 23.04k); an attempted Tempo run (18k which didn’t really work out well) and two Long runs (32.06k and 28.11k). The shoe has behaved like a good friend – being there but without being obtrusive!

That description is nice and emotional but doesn’t tell you much about the shoe so let me get back to two adjectives that Reebok uses for the shoe (and I have explained in detail in earlier posts) and see if they live up to them – “Cushioned” and “Responsive”.

The shoe is touted for the runner who is looking for a “barefoot/minimalist experience but is not willing to compromise on cushioning”. I have already covered the first part about the minimalist expereince – the shoe being very light, having a light upper structure and being quite flexible but Reebok is bang on when they say they haven’t compromised on cushioning. Out of the range of shoes that I have – the Kinvara 3.0; the Free 3.0 & 4.0 and even the Reebok ONE Cushion the ride in these feels really plush. Now for those wondering why the RealFlex Run 2.0 would feel even more cushioned to me then the Reebok ONE Cushion, a little patience please, you will get the answer when I do the final part (3/3) of the review 🙂

What about responsiveness? Once again the response seems pretty bang on. The shoe feels very responsive and adapts to a range of running speeds pretty easily (felt equally comfortable during slower recovery runs and all out striders) providing just the right return of energy at push-off. But more importantly there is a fantastic balance between the cushioning and the response (which at times can be opposing characteristics).

Interestingly the RealFlex Run 1.0 (not really called that but rather the version before this one) had some complaints of having a very soft sole and therefore tending to have a less than satisfactory response. So the changes that Reebok has made to the shoe’s midsole and outsole seems to have worked well (at least from my perspective). 

Another thing which I haven’t spoken about in earlier reviews is grip. I run primarily on tar, cement and brick roads/pavements and in some of the other shoes that I have, I have been a little tentative especially if the surface was wet. However these really grip the road without having a breaking action, giving you confidence to keep pushing.

If you remember I was concerned about heat build-up especially due to the nature of the insole. Well I haven’t had any problems with this but then the weather too has been much cooler during the review runs. The shoe doesn’t seem to be as breathable and as cool as my Kinvara (I can actually feel the breeze through them when I run!) but it is still significantly cooler than the Reebok ONE Cushion.

I was also concerned about the harder heel and the stiffer support in the heel cup however when I run I don’t feel or think about these at all. I think I know why they are there but once again I ask for your patience since I will come back to this in part 3 of the review.

Breaking-in a New Shoe
If you ask most experts if a running shoe needs to be “broken-in” for fit and feel they will say they DON’T need to be. In fact they say pretty emphatically that the new shoe should feel great right from day one. I completely agree with both these views. However there is a slight caveat to this that I learnt the “hard” way. 

My second run in the RealFlex Run 2.0 is an 18k on the very next day after my first one in them. I start with the usual routine, feeling quite fresh and alert. I do the first 2k and have started pushing the speed (this shoe makes you do that !) when suddenly my foot seems to catch on something and I am sprawled face down on the road. For the tiniest moment I just lay still trying to assess the damage, then get up and sit down on the kerb to make sure there are no major injuries. Lots of cuts and bruises but surprisingly doesn’t seem to be any major injuries. What seemed to have saved me was my water bottle which was in my hand and landed first when I fell down – the deep lacerations on the plastic bottle reminds me of what could have happened. Anyway get up and complete the balance 16k very very strongly in spite of now being cautious – I guess a fall triggers all your survival mechanisms, pain suppression centers and adrenaline !

When I come back from the run I am still trying to figure out why I fell, especially since I was alert and feeling strong when I started. Then I remember that the day before when I had first used the shoe I had almost tripped a couple of times while still walking! What was going on? Later in the day I get a mail from Reebok informing me that the shoes heel-to-toe drop is 8mm. That is when the brain starts whirring. If you remember from part 1 of the review I didn’t have this information for the first two runs. Secondly my other regular shoes (both the Kinvara 3 and the Free 3.0) have a heel-to-toe drop of just 4mm.

Mystery solved? I think so. Go up a few paragraphs where I say that when I first used these shoes I actually felt like I was wearing my regular, well used shoes. First that was not the case; the heel-to-toe drop was significantly higher, in fact double. Second I wasn’t aware of this difference; and third the shoe never felt like I was using an 8mm drop shoe (why this was so is still a mystery to me !)

Now here is what I think happened – every runner lifts his foot while running (some more than others). The lift is also dependent on the feel of the shoe. A taller shoe would automatically make you lift higher, similarly a higher drop shoe would also need to be lifted higher to avoid potential obstacles. Since I had been running in 4mm drop shoes I had been used to lifting my foot very little to get over potential bumps. When I wore the RealFlex Run 2.0, not conscious of the change in drop & height, my mind was still sending the same signals to my legs and feet, causing me to raise the foot exactly as before. So even the slightest bit of undulation in the road (which I should have just glided over with my other shoes) became a big bump – and bang I was flat on the road !

There are a couple of lessons here – First know your shoes, both the old one and the new one. If the new one is significantly different then the old one (and even if not) make sure you consciously focus on this and make the adjustments necessary to adapt to the new shoe – else you might end up with injury. After a few conscious runs you should gradually move to a zone of unconscious adjustment whenever you wear these shoes especially if you tend to rotate your running between two or more shoes (as I do). In my case this happened after the 4 or 5 run in these but I think this would also depend on how many kms you put in as well.

Final Thoughts
By now you must have figured out (you don’t need to be Einstein for this ;)) that I have really liked the RealFlex Run 2.0. It has seamlessly worked for me (discounting the fall that humpty dumpty had !) and it has indeed now replaced my worn down Nike Free 4.0 as my preferred training shoe (still trying to keep a low mileage on the Kinvara 3 and the Nike Free 3.0 for actual races).

The shoe is fairly minimalist in design philosophy (light and thin upper, low weight, reasonably flexible, highly responsive, etc) yet has some interesting characteristics like the great cushioning, the higher heel-to-toe drop, the taller height in general and the comparably less flexibility than the Frees which makes it different from the traditional minimalist shoes. If I have to compare it to the shoes I have it feels almost like a cross between the Kinvara 3 and Nike Free 4.0.

I don’t really have any negative comments on these shoes. But if I were to nitpick it would be to ask Reebok to make the insoles more breathable.

That concludes the meat of the review. Watch out for the final post on these shoes where I will try to answer the question – “Is the RealFlex Run 2.0 for you?”

Till then…. 

….RunIndiaRun

Sandeep

About Sandeep

Consultant, Mentor, Headhunter & Leadership Evangelist.

Posted on November 28, 2013, in Running General, Shoe Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

